Virginia Loyal Address of the Magistrates and Militia Officers of Nansemond County

On 12 March 1701/2 the Governor and Council of Virginia made an address of loyalty to the King. A similar loyal address was received from Nansemond County

Magistrates and Militia Officers

George Norsworthy
Thomas Swann
Luke Haveild
Francis Milner
Thomas Milner
Charles Drury
Jno. Speire
William Hunter
William Wright
Henry Jenkins
James Lockhart
Daniel Sullivan
John Pitt
Joseph Wright
Edward Streeter
Thomas Drury

James Speire
William king
Jonas Holladay
Nicholas Hunton
James Jossy
Michael King
William Speir
John Iles
Isaac Shephard
Joseph Meredeth
Henry Hill
William Staples
Nicholas Stallings
William Drury
John Drury
Henry King

Headlam, Cecil, ed., Calender of State Papers, Colonial Series (Volume 20), America and West Indies, Jan.-Dec. 1, 1702, Preserved in the Public Record Office (Vaduz: Kraus Reprint Ltd., 1964) First Published London: HMSO, 1912. pp. 155-160.

More information about Nansemond County, Virginia can be found in the book:

The Vestry Book of the Upper Parish: Nansemond County, Virgina, 1743-1793

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.