Virginia Loyal Address of the Magistrates and Grand Jury of Charles City County

On 12 March 1701/2 the Governor and Council of Virginia made an address of loyalty to the King. A similar loyal address was received from:

Grand Jury

John Cocke
Anthony Wyatt
Robert New
Thomas Jackson
George Pasmoore
James Harrison

Randall Madax
Roger Best
David Gudgam
Jno. Wickett
Jno. Daniel
Thomas Daniell

James Gabeker
Thomas Woodham
Robert Harwood
Jno. Hunt
Thomas Andorson
James Gunn
Damiel Higdon
Jno. Baxter


Richard Bland
Charles Goodrich
Daniel Lewellin

Robert Bolling
Littlebury Epes
George Blighton

Jno. Hardiman
Joshua Wynne
Richard Bradford


Micajah Lowe

Militia Officers

Thomas Simmons
Adam Tapley
Peter Poythres
Anthony Wyatt
Jno. Epes
Francis Epes
Jno. Limbreij
Joshua Wynne
Micajah Lowe

Jno. Hamlin
Jno. Epes
Jno. Reeker, Jr.
Thomas Harrison
Jno. Poythres
Jno. Poythres
Richard Hamlin
Jno. Baxton
William Byrd

Edward Hill
Charles Goodrich
Littlebury Epes
George Blighton
Richard Bradford
John Taylor
Peter Jones
Richard Reeker
James Thweatt

Headlam, Cecil, ed., Calender of State Papers, Colonial Series (Volume 20), America and West Indies, Jan.-Dec. 1, 1702, Preserved in the Public Record Office (Vaduz: Kraus Reprint Ltd., 1964) First Published London: HMSO, 1912. pp. 155-160.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.