New Jersey Proprietors, 1702

Deed of Surrender from the Proprietors of East and West New Jersey of their pretended right of Government to her Majesty.

15 April 1702

Proprietors of the Eastern Division

L. Morris in behalf of Robert Burnett
Miles Forster
John Johnstone
Michael Hawdon
John Barclay
David Lyell
Thomas Warne and Thomas Gordon
William Dockwra
Peter Sonmans
Joseph Ormston as proxy for Charles Ormston
Edward Anthill
George Willocks
Frances Hancock
Thomas Barker
Thomas Cooper
Gilbert Molleson
Henry Adderly for Richard Hasel of Barbados
Thomas Lane
Paul Docminique
Robert Michel
Joseph Brooksbank
E. Richier
Michael Watts
Clement Plumstead

Proprietors of the Western Division

Benjamin Nelson
James Wasse
Richard Harrison
John Turin
Richard Greenaway
Charles Michel
Francis Michel
Francis Paunceford
William Hammond
Ferdinand Holland
Elisa Miller
Benjamin Levy
Francis Minshall
Joseph Collier
Thomas Lewes
Jo. Bennet
John Booker
John Whiting
John Wilcocks
John Bridges
Thomas Skinner
Benjamin Steele
Obadiah Burnett
Jos. Micklethwait
Thomas Lane
Paul Docminique
Robert Michel
Joseph Brooksbank
Michael Watts
E. Richier
John Norton
Ebenezer Jones

Headlam, Cecil, ed., Calendar of State Papers, Colonial Series (Volume 20), America and West Indies, Jan.-Dec. 1, 1702, Preserved in the Public Record Office (Vaduz: Kraus Reprint Ltd., 1964) First Published London: HMSO, 1912. p. 225.

More information about New Jersey proprietors can be found in the book:

Proprietors, Patronage, and Paper Money: Legislative Politics in New Jersey, 1703-1776

Leave a Reply