Massachusetts Bay Justiciary Nominations, County of Suffolk, 1702

County of Suffolk

Justices of the Inferior Court of Common Pleas

Elisha Hutchinson
John Foster
Thomas Brattle*
Samuel Legg*

Justices of the Peace

Capt. Jeremiah Dummer
Edward Bromfield
Major Charles Hobby
Thomas Brattle
Nathaniel Oliver
Col. Nicholas Paige
Jahleel Brenton*
Capt. Samuel Legg
Paul Dudley
John Nelson
Lt.-Col. Ephraim Hunt
John Clarke
Thomas Palmer
Major Samuel Eells
James Baily
Edward Lyde
William Tailer
Adam Winthrop
Capt. John Wilson


Capt. Ephraim Savage
Samuel Thaxter
John Fisher

*the Council took exception to these nominations.

Headlam, Cecil, ed., Calendar of State Papers, Colonial Series (Volume 20), America and West Indies, Jan.- Dec. 1, 1702, Preserved in the Public Record Office (Vaduz: Kraus Reprint Ltd., 1964) First Published London: HMSO, 1912. pp. 434-435.

Leave a Reply