Virginia Loyal Address of the Magistrates and Militia Officers of Isle of Wight County, 1702

On 12 March 1701/2 the Governor and Council of Virginia made an address of loyalty to the King. A similar loyal address was received from:

10 March 1701/2


Henry Applewhaite
Samuel Bridger
Thomas Giles
Anthony Holladay
Arthur Smith
Humphrey Marshall
Thomas Pittit
William Bridger
Henry Applewhaite, Jr.
Charles Chapman, Clerk of Couty Court

Militia Officers

Humphrey Marshall
Arthur Smith
William Bridger
John Davis
Joseph Bridger
James Webb
Joseph Godwin
Henry Applewhaite, Jr.
Richard Exum
Robert Kea
Richard Wilkisson, Jr.
Thomas Harris
Peter Debury
Henry Pitt
Jno. Mackmiall
George Green
William Applewhaite
John Brian
Arther Jones
Thomas Clarke
Jno. Penny
Jno. Sojourner
Jeremiah Prockter
Nicholas Smith
William Williames
William Kinching
George Williams
John Lawrence
Thomas Kardy

Headlam, Cecil, ed., Calendar of State Papers, Colonial Series (Volume 20), America and West Indies, Jan.-Dec. 1, 1702, Preserved in the Public Record Office (Vaduz: Kraus Reprint Ltd., 1964) First Published London: HMSO, 1912. pp. 155-160.

More information about Isle of Wight County, Virginia can be found in the book:

Seventeenth Century Isle of Wight County, Virginia

Leave a Reply