Virginia Loyal Address of the Magistrates and Freeholders of New Kent County, 1701/2

On 12 March 1701/2 the Governor and Council of Virginia made an address of loyalty to the King. A similar loyal address was received from New Kent County

7 March 1701/2


George Clough, Clerk
W. Clopton, Sub.-Sheriff
James Matthew, Sub.-Sheriff

Magistrates and Freeholders

Col. of Foot, J. Lightfoot
Capt. George Keeling
Capt. John Lightfoot, Jr.
Lt. Richard Baker
Lt. James Reves
Ensign Ed. Walton
Capt. William Bassett
Lt. Major Nicholas Meriwether
Lt. Henry Chiles
Lt. David Anderson
Lt. William Harman
Lt. John Breeding
Cornet William Lacey
Cornet Richard Allen
Cornet John Parke, Jr.
Nicholas Meriwehter, Sheriff
Jo. Foster
William Bassett
John Lyddall
James Mosse
John Stanup
Thomas Smith
George Keeling
Henry Chiles

Headlam, Cecil, ed., Calender of State Papers, Colonial Series (Volume 20), America and West Indies, Jan.-Dec. 1, 1702, Preserved in the Public Record Office (Vaduz: Kraus Reprint Ltd., 1964) First Published London: HMSO, 1912. pp. 155-160.

More information about New Kent County, Virginia can be found in the book:

Men of Matadequin: Three Hundred Years from New Kent County Virginia

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *